Yoga For Your Sign

Since delving more into astrology, I've been able to pinpoint and further understand certain characteristics about myself and those around me. As well as characteristics though, I've also learned how different signs apply to one of the four elements and certain body parts. For example, I'm a Taurus (Sun) which governs the neck and throat, and maybe explains why I used to hate people near my neck (- no idea why people were near my neck often enough for me to figure that out though?!?) or the strong dislike I had for scarves or polo neck jumpers - not so much now that I've realised how fashionable they can be...

Like yoga, I feel like astrology could be a great way to further understand ourselves, our bodies and our connection to the universe. So I've put the two together in this post on Yoga For Your Sign that'll benefit you in terms of your signs or that benefit anyone depending on, for example, what sign the sun or moon is in at the moment!

Governs: head, face, brain eyes.
Poses: warrior 1, 2, 3 and humble warrior, chair pose, headstand and fire log pose.

Governs: throat, neck, thyroid gland, vocal tract.
Poses: tree pose, peacock pose, locust pose, bow pose and cow-face pose.

Governs: shoulders, arms, hands, brain, nervous system, lungs.
Poses: Shoulderstand, crow pose, handstand, eight-angle pose, dragon pose, flying pigeon pose.

Governs: chest, breasts, stomach, alimentary canal.
Poses: half moon pose, crescent lunge, goddess pose, child's pose and the moon salutation.

Governs: upper back, spine, spinal column, chest and heart.
Poses: wild thing, side plank, gorilla pose, camel pose and the sun salutation.

Governs: digestive system, intestines, spleen, nervous system.
Poses: boat pose, seated twists, plow pose and reclined spinal twist.

Governs: kidneys, skin, lumbar region and buttocks
Poses: dancer pose, bird of paradise pose, balancing warrior pose, eagle pose and happy baby pose.

Governs: reproductive system, sexual organs, bowels, excretory system.
Poses: camel pose, wide legged forward bend, yogic squat and pigeon pose.

Governs: hips, thighs, liver, sciatic nerve.
Poses: triangle pose, dancer pose, pyramid pose, lizard pose.

Governs: knees, joints, skeletal system.
Poses: hero's pose, Sage Marichi's pose, lotus pose, cowherd pose, wheel pose and bridge pose.

Governs: ankles, circulatory system.
Poses: eagle pose, forward fold, hero's pose with toes tucked under and monkey pose.

Governs: feet, toes, lymphatic system, adipose tissue.
Poses: fish pose, boat pose, mountain pose, reverse plank pose, cobbler pose and corpse pose.




  1. Really! so there yoga now for everyone zodiac sign quite funny but with the benefits of the body parts it aims to nourish i would say that is quite something.

  2. There are several different disciplines that you will find practiced in Hatha yoga. However due to it's popularity, some classes may even teach a fusion of several different styles of yoga. thefreeyoga.com

  3. Hatha yoga, also Hatha vidya is a particular system of Yoga founded by Swatmarama, a yogic sage of the 15th centry in India. Swatmarama compiled the "Hatha Yoga Pradipika", which introduced the system of Hatha Yoga. Hatha yoga is derived from a number of different traditions.Hướng dẫn học Pháp Luân Công cho người mới bắt đầu

  4. The benefits of yoga vary depending on the type of yoga practiced. Although many forms of yoga practice are safe, some are strenuous and may not be appropriate for everyone. Luvi Yoga